The Guilty Old Party

Where once we were led by the morals of men, now we are led by their deceit. I am disheartened by the American leadership, yet I try to find the mind to write or post a bit here and there hoping that maybe one leader East of me will find the conscience to stand up and fight. Everyday on my wall the GOP chair, Reince Priebus, asks what it is that people want. He implores us to like, comment, sign petitions and share. The chair and the GOP know exactly what is necessary to stop the unconstitutional leadership. Exactly. They are making the choice not to act. As much as it is certain that Hillary Clinton is lying, it must be equally as certain the GOP is failing.

We have been telling the GOP for such a very long time…still they ask. It’s a game in Washington. For me the worst game is the one that John Boehner and Mitch McConnell are playing. I’ve read where supposedly Boehner has saved the GOP from themselves. But, he runs ads against some of the members of that party. He misleads, he tricks and he doesn’t lead with honesty. It’s bad enough that the commander-in-chief leads that way. Oh there are lots of impassioned speeches by politicians and their hearts may be in the right place but no speech, no petition, no letter and no sitting on their “hallowed” halls is going to change anything for the better. Speeches can be a rallying cry in today’s technological age ….on Facebook, Twitter or in a blog… from the safety of our own homes. Petitions? Petitions do NOT work with this administration because they first have to challenge themselves by saying maybe they made a mistake. They won’t and they don’t because they believe they are infallible. Narcissists always do.

We gave the GOP all the answers they needed in the midterms. One has to consider that they just don’t care. Why should they? They have money. There’s always somewhere they can move to in retirement or some lobbying job they can take. While I realize everyone spouts the tired old adage “Money isn’t everything” I don’t have any, so I know that all my daily life problems would go away if I had some. Seriously. I worked most of my life. I raised my children. I did the very best I could yet Washington cannot even give us that. It’s sickening.

This is America and somewhere deep in the recesses of many hearts is the strength to get up, go to where the changes need to be made. Take your flag with you. The American flag is no more a symbol of racism than a black-and-white cookie is. It is a symbol of freedom won and raised after huge battles against tyranny many, many years ago. So why are we allowing a different kind of tyranny to take back over?

I am so sick of it. I am so saddened by it.

You’re a Grand Old Flag

by George M. Cohan

You’re a grand old flag,
You’re a high flying flag
And forever in peace may you wave.
You’re the emblem of
The land I love.
The home of the free and the brave.
Ev’ry heart beats true
‘neath the Red, White and Blue,
Where there’s never a boast or brag.
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
Keep your eye on the grand old flag.

You’re a grand old flag,
You’re a high flying flag
And forever in peace may you wave.
You’re the emblem of
The land I love.
The home of the free and the brave.
Ev’ry heart beats true
‘neath the Red, White and Blue,
Where there’s never a boast or brag.
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
Keep your eye on the grand old flag.

Leave a Reply

