I Still Believe in America’s Preeminence

They will feign shock when they get older and tell their grandchildren that they just don’t know how it happened. Outsiders will be shocked when they ask what happened. Many of the snickering fools will be long gone or wallowing somewhere in the misery of “poor for one and all’ state they helped create. If anyone is allowed the have the red, white and blue I figure it will be a long-loved remnant of a past and a history once so loved it had to be hidden.

Some elites will make it through with their many billions locked behind the magical gates of “only for me and not for thee” mansions gained by corruption and greed. Their faces will be mapped with lines of hate that long ago left their mark and the influence peddling they thrived on will only be in a small collective circle of despotic comfort. However, even at the gates of death their faces will never reflect shame or guilt. Yet, someday, at their very end, a prayer or two, or many, will be answered and the fear of hell will mark them with a worry that will encourage many sleepless nights because they chose to live as if there were no God, yet they will seek the comfort in knowing there is a God as they approach the resolution of their besmirched lives. Fortunately, Christianity will survive and it is by its grace and teachings that one or two, or many, of these horrible humans will have that comfort regardless how much the logical mind of a realist Christian wants to deny them. The heart will not allow it….always. Therein lies salvation from a God that is truly good.

Still, history will not treat them kindly. When good finally triumphs over evil the questions will be so abundant it will take a very long time to answer them if they ever can be answered.

The ones who seek to describe will look to lay blame on everyone but themselves. In reality, everyone played a part. Many said or did nothing. Others took the truth and twisted it. An enormous amount ignored the facts and actions straight away most often to accomplish a task or ideal built on greed. Those who had lost their souls in the early days of their lives, if indeed they ever had one at all, will be the most egregious skewers of history.

The only comfort in history will be the Al Sharptons of this world castigated as a diabolic insurgent who proselytized hate. Or, there will be the Al Gores remembered more for the “inconvenient lies”  told to get rich than  “inconvenient truths”. The upside down hustle perpetuating violent protests which end in the sacrificing of lives of police officers based on a policy of dividing society will be one of the most disgusting, least-respected and unforgivable moments in history. Of that you can be certain.

History will also show us a period in time in our once great country when small-minded men were allowed to wage a war of regulatory attrition to force the people they are supposed to lead and serve into submissiveness. And, all the later storytellers will not be able to explain it because they will be from that time where truth was discouraged thus never taught. Yet, the best of them will try. I pray they succeed.

I’ve been privileged to know so many people from the greatest generation and shortly there after. Many from the latter were taken too soon. The only comfort I get from that is that I believe God knew it was better for them to not be here to witness the fall of everything they fought for. Maybe their hearts would be the most egregiously harmed because I know it wasn’t about saving their souls. Their souls were intact. It’s comforting in a way because my heart hurts for them every time I think of something they tried to do for good. I’m glad they can’t witness the erosion of freedom happening now.

As a little girl, my proudest moment of the day was hoisting the flag up the pole at my elementary school. Taking it down was even better as we folded it with such reverence knowing, even young, that when we got up the next morning it would still be there. I’m not even sure how I learned that at 8 but I’m glad I did.

Additionally, in my memory is every history lesson I ever learned about the beginning of America. I either had the best teachers or I just knew to love my country. I still do most passionately.

Time is running out though I battle everyday to unburden my grandchildren with the falsities they sometimes learn at school through the tunnel vision that is Common Core. I am honest. I want to leave them with the foundation of truth and fact. I want to instill in them pride for America, if not the world.That way, when I am gone I have left them hope.

Someday, America will once again be remembered, if not praised, for all the good she has done. In fact, many elsewhere in the world are already asking: “What happened?”

I still believe in our preeminence. I wish the rest of America did too.

Leave a Reply

