Just one cheery person today

Lately, I have awakened with the altruistic goal of being cheery and spreading it. After the second cup of coffee, I mostly convince myself that nothing is going to take away my cheer for that day. Then someone comes along like a huge sharp pin and busts that bubble, and all I can do is chastise myself with: “What the hell were you thinking?”

Is it too much to ask for a little cheer? It’s the holiest time of the year. Surely that counts for more than presents and decorations? Surely it means that goodwill towards men really does mean exactly what it says?

At the start of the holiday season, I helped some other people and that cheered me until the misery in the world kept up pace with my cheeriness and infected more and more and more…..around me. What’s a cheer-seeker to do? Really? I don’t have a lot to give but I can give a smile, a word of encouragement, a prayer and humor? And, I do. More often than not I get a “Bah Humbug” in return. None of what is wrong in the world is going to get fixed quickly. (I know, I complain loudly most of the time too.) But, oh can we not dwell for a time? Can the protesters go home and love their families? Can the wealthier help the less fortunate? Can the politicians be honest for awhile? (Okay, that last one is asking a lot.) It’s so bad right now that while watching Grubervision on C-Span 3 yesterday I kept misdirecting to wonderful Christmas light displays to erase the feeling that today’s world is so bad a hammer upside the head would feel more pleasant.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, I looked up the history of hamburgers and put mustaches on a disproportionate amount of the family pictures I had in my computer. Dish washing was fun. Laundry was a joy, and anyone who knows me well, knows I’d rather scrub toilets than fold clothes. Ugh! I can’t even post a cute picker-upper meme to a family member without some kind of smart ass comment sent back to make me feel as miserable a they apparently want to be. I’m taking some time off. I’m going to go find strangers to wish a Merry Christmas to. I’ll throw in a few Happy Holidays only to adhere to my commitment of the spirit of cheer. I’ll even promise to dislike the happy holidays wish at a later date. Maybe I’ll read Charles Dickens again or repeatedly watch the 1938 version of A Christmas Carol (Scrooge). If that doesn’t work I’ll revert to my Rudolph, Frosty and Santa Clause is Coming to Town 1960’s DVD set. Either way, I have to find some cheer. Would you send me some? If you are the one cheery person, make my day not in vain and leave a short comment?

Whatever happens the misery will still be here when my mind returns in a capacity to think about it.

By the way, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

One thought on “Just one cheery person today

Leave a Reply

